HomeCricketAll Eyes on Sachin As Legends Gear Up For...

All Eyes on Sachin As Legends Gear Up For Road Safety World Series

- Advertisement -

In a bid to promote road safety awareness, former cricketing legends gear up to participate in a Road Safety World series starting March, 7 at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. The series will feature some of the biggest names in international cricket including the likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Brian Lara, Tilakratne Dilshan, Jonty Rhodes, Brett Lee etc and will be an 11 match affair spread over a span of 15 days with the final being played on 22nd March.

Tournament format and venue

The format of the tournament is such that each of the five teams will play each other once in the league stage, before the top two teams move into the finals for the title clash. Out of the 11 matches, two games will be played at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium, 4 at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune, 4 at DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai with the final being played at Brabourne Stadium.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

An opportunity for the fans to revive memories

The series will be a treat for any cricket fan as it’ll give you an opportunity to revive memories. You’ll be able to watch Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag once again opening for India, you can also witness a flying Jonty Rhodes at point, those elegant cover drives from Brian Lara and the big spinning off breaks from Muttiah Muralidharan, there is so much to look forward in this tournament. No wonder why it created a huge buzz since its announcement.

Pic Credit: Crictracker
Irfan, yuvraj and Kaif will represent India legends in road safety awareness series

Not the first tournament, definitely not the last

This is not the first tournament of such kind, and definitely not the last. Every now and then all these legends participate in several charity matches to raise funds for a certain cause. In 2018, at St. Morris Ice cricket tournament cricketing legends participated in two match T-20 series. This year as well players like Ricky Ponting, Wasim Akram, Brian Lara, etc participated in a charity match to raise funds for the Australian Bushfire.

Pic Credit: The week
Sachin Tendulkar along with Ellyse Perry

Tournament Schedule

7 March

India Legends vs West Indies Legends – Wankhede, Mumbai

8 March

Australia Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends -Wankhede, Mumbai

10 March

India Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends – DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai

11 March

West Indies Legends vs South Africa Legends -DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai

13 March

South Africa Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends – DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai

14 March

India Legends vs South Africa Legends – Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) Stadium, Pun

16 March

Australia Legends vs West Indies Legends – MCA Stadium, Pune

17 March

West Indies Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends – MCA Stadium, Pune

19 March

Australia Legends vs South Africa Legends – DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai

20 March

India Legends vs Australia Legends – MCA Stadium, Pune

22 March

Final – Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai

Where to watch

Tll the matches will be broadcasted on Colours Cineplex and Colours Kannada Cinema. Live streaming can also be seen on Voot and Jio app.


India Legends: Sachin Tendulkar (Captain), Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Ajit Agarkar, Sanjay Bangar, Munaf Patel, Mohammad Kaif, Pragyan Ojha, Sairaj Bahutule, Abey Kuruvilla, Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan, Sameer Dighe.

South Africa Legends: Jonty Rhodes (Captain), Herschelle Gibbs, Garnett Kruger, Jacques Rudolph, Andrew Hall, Albie Morkel, Johann van der Wath, Lance Klusener, Martin Van Jaarsveld, Morne van Wyk, Paul Harris,  Roger Telemachus, Ryan McLaren.

Australia Legends: Brett Lee (Captain), Brett Geeves, Jason Krejza, Mark Cosgrove, Nathan Reardon, Shane Lee, Travis Birt,  Ben Laughlin, Brad Hodge, Clint Mckay, Xavier Doherty.

West Indies Legends: Brian Lara (Captain), Adam Sanford, Carl Hooper,  Daren Ganga, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ricardo Powell, Ridley Jacobs, Samuel Badree, Suleiman Benn, Tino Best, Dinanath Ramnarine, Pedro Collins, Danza Hyatt.

Sri Lanka Legends: Tillakaratne Dilshan (Captain), Chaminda Vaas, Farveez Maharoof, Marvan Atapattu, Muttiah Muralitharan, Rangana Herath, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Sachithra Senanayake, Chamara Kapugedera, Thilan Thushara,  Upul Chandana, Malinda Warnapura.

- Advertisement -

Do we often under-appreciate Andy Flower? What’s his legacy?

There's a hint of sadness in noting that Zimbabwe has never been a dominant power in world cricket. But nothing could be sadder than...

15 Highly Educated Cricketers Of All Time

Cricket is a game of passion and dedication. A sport in which one involves themselves in camps and practice since early childhood. Due to...

IPL 2018: The beautiful Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

Being seated in the Sawai Mansingh stadium brings a different world, a world of difference away from the palpable excitement of watching truly India’s...

IPL 2018: Purple Cap Holders Over The Years

The Indian Premier League (IPL), like any other global T20s league,  has been a batsman's paradise. In the batsmen friendly format, bowlers have found...

What can be expected from the 2018 Azerbaijan Grand Prix?

Heat in the air and heat inside the car- that's been the story of the Azerbaijan Grand prix. As F1 parks itself at Baku...

How Come UFC Fighters Have Cauliflower Ears But Boxers Don’t?

The UFC has come a long way since its early days, wherein the fights seemed like modern-day gladiators due to its brutality and inconsistent...

Top 5 Left Wingers In The World, Based On 2019-20 Season

Owing to the fact that football has evolved a lot since its inception and the tactics have changed a lot, the role of wingers...

5 spinners who can be India’s potential finger-spinners

The Indian cricket team has always been proud of its ability to produce world-class batsmen and similarly potent spinners. Though in recent times, the...

Big change for India Women’s cricket as BCCI looks to finalise bowling coach soon

We are not even at the halfway stage of the 2018 cricketing season. It clearly seems there's no stopping India's women's cricket team. The...

The astonishing decline of Mario Balotelli

There was a time when Mario Balotelli was on top of the world.  The Italian talisman had scored two goals in the Euro 2012 semi-finals,...

Amid an unstoppable flow of runs, Smriti Mandhana tipped to get prestigious Arjuna Award

When the BCCI announced that free-hitting batswoman Smriti Mandhana would be awarded the Arjuna Award, there were more smiles than doubts. For Smriti Mandhana,...

Fresh fitness blow adds to woes for Mohammed Shami

Earlier this year, India fast bowler Mohammed Shami was the leading wicket-taker in South Africa and helped the national team to win a Test...

IPL 2018: The best from the West Indies

When one of nature's treacherous attacks on mankind- earthquakes- strike, their impact is measured on Richter's scale. When West Indians strike in a tournament...

Who Is the Better Formula 1 Racer, Max Verstappen or Lewis Hamilton?

Despite Verstappen’s first win in Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2021, a new debate has sparked on which Formula 1 racer is better? Max Verstappen...

IPL 2018: Orange Cap Holders Over The Years

The last decade in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 has gone on to give us a strong list of batsmen, who have taken...

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -