Cricket Test Championship Points Table

About Cricket Test Championship

  • The first Test of the Ashes series will also be the first match of the World Test Championship. The interesting thing is that this championship will run for about two years.


After the ODI World Cup, cricket fans have got the gift of Test World Cup. To make Test cricket more exciting, the ICC has announced the Test Championship. The ICC on Monday launched the format of the Test Championship.

This ICC Test Championship will begin from August 1, 2019, with the first Ashes Test of Australia-England. In 2021, the winner of the Test Championship will be decided. So let’s know the answers to those questions, which are arising in your mind regarding this test championship.


What is special about the World Cricket Test Championship?

As such, the idea of ​​organizing the World Test Championships is very special in itself. Despite this, there are many other things that make this championship quite different. Under this, like in ODI and T20 cricket in Test cricket, the players’ jersey will have their name and number written on it.

How will the test championship be played?

During the duration of this championship, the top nine ranked teams will have to play six bilateral Test series with mutually selected rival teams. Three of these series will be on home ground, while three on the ground of the opposition team. Each series can be from any number of tests from two to five, but the marks obtained on each test series will remain the same 120. The points that will be awarded will not be on the test series results, but will be given on the basis of every match of the series.

Understand arithmetic

If there is a series of two tests, then 60 points will be given on the victory in the first test. (This is 50% of the marks obtained in the entire series 120).

-If there is a series of three matches, you will get 40 points on victory. (One third of 120).

– 30 points will be given for victory in the series of four tests. (One fourth of 120)

– You will get 24 points for victory in the five-Test series.

– Both teams will get 30-30 points if they are not satisfied. Or half the number of points won. (For example, in a two-Test series, winning the half-point of 60 is 30)

– In case of match draw, both teams will get 20-20 points (one third of 60 points).

-Match losing team will not be given any points.

These teams will take part: India, Australia, England, South Africa, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bangladesh, New Zealand will take part in the Test Championship. The Zimbabwe Cricket Board has been suspended by the ICC, while Ireland and Afghanistan will play Test cricket under the ICC’s Future Tour Program.

At the same time, the teams who will take part in the championship will play Test cricket against each other, apart from the championship. For example, in November this year, England will visit New Zealand for a two-Test series. However, the points of this series will not be added to the championship.

How will the winner decide?

The two teams with the highest points at the end of the league stage of the championship will play the final match of this test championship in England in June 2021 and the winning team will be the winner of the first Test World Cup in the history of cricket.

Goal of starting test championship

The growing popularity of T20 among the youth has reduced the attraction of Test cricket in the audience. Experiments like day-night test, four-day test are being done to increase interest in people for the test. Test championship is also an important step in this direction.

Login to your account below

Fill the forms bellow to register

*By registering into our website, you agree to the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.