IPL Orange Cap holders

IPL 2018: Orange Cap Holders Over The Years

The last decade in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 has gone on to give us a strong list of batsmen, who have taken the T20 League by storm and scored runs aplenty. Fans have been thrilled with run feasts as the IPL stayed true to the tunes of the format and its demands.

As the IPL 11 is set to start from Saturday, April 7, the race will once again heat up on who could go on to become the leading run-scorer and bag the coveted Orange Cap. Here we are going to discuss IPL Orange Cap holders over the years

Interestingly, foreign stars have an edge over Indian batsmen if we look at past leading run-scorers. Also, left-handed batsmen’s tryst with IPL has been solid. The southpaws have won the Cap by a 7-3 margin. One wonders what is the code in IPL and how have the lefties cracked the same.

IPL Orange Cap holders


The southpaw played a superb hand in the inaugural edition as he stepped up the mark to shine for Kings XI Punjab. What was in store for him was a call-up to the Australian team in view with his form in IPL.

A century and five fifties to his name in just 11 matches, Marsh was splendid to watch as he amassed 616 runs. He played the spinners with confidence and was often found stabilizing KXIP’s innings. His 115 that season against eventual champions Rajasthan Royals was a class act.

What is baffling is that he had an average of 68.44 that season which highlighted the consistency factor in him.

Matches: 11 Runs: 616, Best: 115, S/R: 139.68


The big Aussie personality stamped his authority for Chennai Super Kings in 2009. He excelled in the conditions in South Africa that year and there was no keeping him quiet.

His 572 runs helped the yellow brigade to finish second in the group stage before they bowed out in the knockouts. Hayden smashed five fifties along the way and stood tall against whatever was thrown at him. A CSK favorite, Hayden’s emphatic 65 runs off 35 deliveries against RCB was a stellar show.

What ticked for Hayden was his positivity upfront in giving the side a base.

Matches: 12 Runs: 572, Best: 89, S/R: 144.81


Cricket’s ‘Mr. Consistent’ David Hussey was a lively character when he put the pedal in the gas for CSK in 2013. Hussey’s role in the side changed as he was promoted up the order and was given a license to set a tempo.

He played according to the situation and never looked uncomfortable for a bit in a format that many felt could never suit him. The match-winner amassed 733 runs in a breathtaking performance throughout the campaign. He wasn’t the slam-bang customer like a Chris Gayle, but with an eye for runs and setting the middle-overs alive, it clicked for him.

He scored six half-centuries that season and helped CSK reach the final of the tourney.

Matches: 17 Runs: 733, Best: 95, S/R: 129.95

DAVID WARNER (2015, 2017)

He batted like a rockstar in the past few seasons in the IPL. The Aussie opener joined Chris Gayle as the 2nd player to clinch the Orange Cap on two occasions.

Aggressive, stylish and powerful, Warner’s performances were both convincing and pleasing to the eye. In 2016, too, he scored a lot of runs to finish behind Virat Kohli and helped Sunrisers Hyderabad win the IPL title. Warner has never allowed the burden of captaincy take a toll.

2015 Matches: 11 Runs: 641, Best: 126, S/R: 141.81

2017 Matches: 11 Runs: 562, Best: 91, S/R: 156.54 

CHRIS GAYLE (2011, 2012)

IPL Orange Cap holders Chris Gayle owned the pitch in the IPL in 2011 and 2012. He is the only player to win two successive Orange Caps. In these two seasons, every team received a hammering, centuries were scored, and the West Indies man became the ‘Universal Boss’ right away.

In 2011, he smashed two centuries and scored 608 runs in 12 matches. He followed that up with 733 runs in 2012 and it was a brutal act never allowed bowlers to sleep well at night.

2012 Matches: 15 Runs: 733, Best: 128*, S/R: 160.74

2011 Matches: 12 Runs: 608, Best: 107, S/R: 183.13


When it comes to records, no one can keep the master blaster away. Rightly so the Mumbai Indians opener had a dream IPL campaign in 2010. He was the first Indian to clinch the Orange Cap.

It was a majestic year for Tendulkar personally helping Mumbai to reach the final. He amassed a mammoth 618 runs to his name, scoring five fifties that season. He pipped former South African hero Jacques Kallis that year for the coveted prize.

Matches: 15 Runs: 618, Best: 89*, S/R: 132.61


The KKR player rose to authority in 2014 with 660 runs. Being IPL Orange Cap holders His performances helped KKR win the title that year which was the second under Gautam Gambhir.

Uthappa played sensible cricket throughout KKR’s campaign and mastered his cause well. His fulfilled his role well and showed a character of being classy and attacking at the same time. He has been hitting runs every season, but 2016 was another level from the Knight.

Matches: 16 Runs: 660, Best: 83*, S/R: 137.78


The Most famous & Indian Cricket Team Captain is one among the IPL Orange Cap holders.His figures wasn’t the only thing that justified his splendid season, but it was the vast array of shot making and character. Four centuries in an IPL season tell everything!

The Indian skipper brags about the highest ever runs scored in a single season in the history of the IPL. He smashed 973 runs in 2016 played till the death. He also hit seven half centuries. His hunger for runs was at a different level altogether. It is still the most defining season by a batsman, who showed why he is the best in the world.

Matches: 16 Runs: 973, Best: 113, S/R: 152.03

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Whatsapp
<u>by Team Kyrosports</u>

by Team Kyrosports

The rising platform for sports and entertainment trying to drive almost every sports update to our readers