Jubilant India Look To Seal ODI Series Against Proteas At Johannesburg


Share post:

India will be aiming to get business done and seal the ODI series when they take on South Africa at the Wanderers in Johannesburg. With already having won the first three ODI matches, Virat Kohli’s side is just a win away from going 4-0 up and winning the six-match series; their first ever bilateral win in South Africa.
With the Indian skipper in ominous form with the bat and the wrist-spin duo of Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav spinning a web around the Proteas, India will go in as the favourites in the Pink ODI. Meanwhile, a fourth straight win over the Proteas will also cement India’s No.1 spot in the ICC ODI Team Rankings.
India’s ODI Series in South Africa

  1. 1992-93: Lost 2-5
  2. 2006-07: Lost 0-4
  3. 2010-11: Lost 2-3
  4. 2013-14: Lost 0-2
  5. 2018: Leading series 3-0

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli, Wrist Spinners Hand India 124-run Win Against Proteas
Talisman Kohli is in the form of his life and has already notched up two centuries in the three ODIs played so far and will look to continue in the same vein. For the South Africans, AB de Villiers has been named in the 15-member squad after making a return from injury.
They will look up to the senior batsman for bringing the zeal back to the side, who have struggled against Indian spinners, having lost 21 wickets to them across three matches.

  1. India have won 27 out of the last 35 bilateral matches.
  2. Kohli has amassed 318 runs in three matches hitting two centuries
  3. India wrist spinners have taken 21 wickets at an average of 9.05

Team selection and news:
The visitors are sitting pretty with both batting and bowling clicking in equal measure and are therefore likely going to go with the same team. The bowling needs a special mention as the character shown in the Test series have quickly transferred into the ODIs. India won the first three games in a convincing manner and it looks like there is no stopping them at the moment.
It has somewhat been an all-out spin show with Chahal and Kuldeep dominating the headlines. Shikhar Dhawan has picked up form and will hope to continue with the momentum. Meanwhile, the likes of MS Dhoni and Kedar Jadhav need runs in the middle order alongside consistency from all-rounder Hardik Pandya.
ALSO READ: Sparkling ‘Jodi’: Is There Any Stopping India’s Wrist Spin Duo?
South Africa 
All eyes will be on AB de Villiers on whether he makes a return to the starting XI with reports claiming that he will need to pass a fitness test ahead of the match. A lot depends on AB in this tie as he brings so much into the game with the experience and versatility under his belt.
The question lies whether AB will don the captaincy given Aiden Markram’s poor show in the last two matches after an injury to Faf du Plessis. If AB does make it to the playing XI, either of David Miller or Khaya Zondo will likely make the exit from that middle order. Markram needs to fire for the hosts alongside Hashim Amla atop and battle against the Indian bowlers.
The hosts have problems aplenty even with their bowling. India have been hardly troubled by home side’s attack, losing just 11 wickets in the three matches played so far.
Pitch and conditions
The Wanderers pitch came under the microscope when these two sides last met there in the third and final match of the Test series. The ICC declared the pitch as poor and another less-than-favourable score could see one of SA’s premier cricket venues starved of international contests for at least a year.
With that in mind, the ground-staff will be hoping to build a good surface that could suit batting and pace bowling alike.
India; Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur.
South Africa: Aiden Markram (captain), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Heinrich Klaasen (wkt), David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Khaya Zondo.
Match starts at: 4.30 pm IST.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Check out SevenJackpots and find your new favorite online casino among the best Indian gambling sites in the market. Play with real money via preferred payment and enjoy a rich collection of online casino games anytime, anywhere.

Best Indian gambling sites and enjoy the greatest selection of cricket Satta rates one can find in India now. Visit PureWin cricket betting and make use of your sports knowledge to bet on any game of cricket played in India or in every corner of the world.

Related articles