HomeAnalysisList of Virat Kohli Records: Kohli Overtakes Dhoni

List of Virat Kohli Records: Kohli Overtakes Dhoni

- Advertisement -

Team India captain Virat Kohli made a big achievement after winning the T20 series in Australia. Kohli has become the only Indian captain to win T20 series in SENA countries (South Africa, England, New Zealand and Australia). In this case, he has left behind former Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Earlier, Dhoni was able to win the T20 series to Team India only in South Africa and Australia. He could not win the T20 series in New Zealand and England.

10 consecutive wins on foreign ground under Kohli’s captaincy

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Under Kohli’s captaincy, the Indian team has so far won 10 consecutive T20Is on foreign soil. Earlier, India had won 3 T20Is on the West Indies tour and 5 on the New Zealand tour. At the same time, in the current 3-match series, Australia defeated them in the same 2 T20s.


India can leave Pakistan behind

Speaking of the overall (domestic and foreign) T20 match, the Indian team is invincible from the last 9 matches. If Team India wins the T20 match against Australia on Tuesday, it will become the third team in the world to win 10 consecutive T20s. In this case, Team India will leave Pakistan behind. T20 International has the Afghanistan team in first and second place in terms of winning most consecutive matches.

Record of winning the series in all three formats in Australia

Talking of two or more bilateral series, Kohli has also become the first international captain to win a series in all three formats (Test, ODI, and T20) on Australian soil. Kohli had defeated the Kangaroo team in the ODI and Test series on the last Australia tour. At the same time, India has captured the current T20 series.

Earlier in 2018, South Africa defeated Australia in all three formats. Faf du Plessis was the captain of the African team at the time, but only one T20 match was played on that tour.

Recently Sachin’s record was also broken

In the 3-match ODI series against Australia, Kohli had surpassed Sachin Tendulkar in the case of scoring the fastest 12 thousand runs. Sachin played 309 matches to score 12 thousand runs. At the same time, Kohli took this record to his name 58 matches before Sachin. Earlier, Kohli also broke the record for making the fastest 10,000. Kohli has so far scored 12,040 runs in 251 ODIs at an average of around 60. Australia defeated India by 13 runs in the third ODI.

Follow us on Facebook for more sports news & updates

- Advertisement -

Do we often under-appreciate Andy Flower? What’s his legacy?

There's a hint of sadness in noting that Zimbabwe has never been a dominant power in world cricket. But nothing could be sadder than...

15 Highly Educated Cricketers Of All Time

Cricket is a game of passion and dedication. A sport in which one involves themselves in camps and practice since early childhood. Due to...

IPL 2018: The beautiful Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

Being seated in the Sawai Mansingh stadium brings a different world, a world of difference away from the palpable excitement of watching truly India’s...

IPL 2018: Purple Cap Holders Over The Years

The Indian Premier League (IPL), like any other global T20s league,  has been a batsman's paradise. In the batsmen friendly format, bowlers have found...

What can be expected from the 2018 Azerbaijan Grand Prix?

Heat in the air and heat inside the car- that's been the story of the Azerbaijan Grand prix. As F1 parks itself at Baku...

How Come UFC Fighters Have Cauliflower Ears But Boxers Don’t?

The UFC has come a long way since its early days, wherein the fights seemed like modern-day gladiators due to its brutality and inconsistent...

Top 5 Left Wingers In The World, Based On 2019-20 Season

Owing to the fact that football has evolved a lot since its inception and the tactics have changed a lot, the role of wingers...

5 spinners who can be India’s potential finger-spinners

The Indian cricket team has always been proud of its ability to produce world-class batsmen and similarly potent spinners. Though in recent times, the...

Big change for India Women’s cricket as BCCI looks to finalise bowling coach soon

We are not even at the halfway stage of the 2018 cricketing season. It clearly seems there's no stopping India's women's cricket team. The...

The astonishing decline of Mario Balotelli

There was a time when Mario Balotelli was on top of the world.  The Italian talisman had scored two goals in the Euro 2012 semi-finals,...

Amid an unstoppable flow of runs, Smriti Mandhana tipped to get prestigious Arjuna Award

When the BCCI announced that free-hitting batswoman Smriti Mandhana would be awarded the Arjuna Award, there were more smiles than doubts. For Smriti Mandhana,...

Fresh fitness blow adds to woes for Mohammed Shami

Earlier this year, India fast bowler Mohammed Shami was the leading wicket-taker in South Africa and helped the national team to win a Test...

IPL 2018: The best from the West Indies

When one of nature's treacherous attacks on mankind- earthquakes- strike, their impact is measured on Richter's scale. When West Indians strike in a tournament...

Who Is the Better Formula 1 Racer, Max Verstappen or Lewis Hamilton?

Despite Verstappen’s first win in Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2021, a new debate has sparked on which Formula 1 racer is better? Max Verstappen...

IPL 2018: Orange Cap Holders Over The Years

The last decade in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 has gone on to give us a strong list of batsmen, who have taken...

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -