HomeCOVID -19Pravin Tambe picked up by Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR)...

Pravin Tambe picked up by Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) for CPL 2020

- Advertisement -

Former Mumbai and Rajasthan Royals leg-spinner Pravin Tambe has become the first Indian player to have been picked up by a Caribbean Premier League (CPL) franchise.

Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) have signed Pravin Tambe for USD 7,500 for the CPL 2020 season in a virtually held CPL draft.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Tambe was one of the two Indians in the CPL 2020 draft. The other being former Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) batsman Asad Pathan. However, 36-year-old Pathan found no takers.

Pravin Tambe, who was first spotted by Rajasthan Royals in 2013, has also played for Gujarat Lions and Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL.

In 2019 IPL auction, Tambe had been picked up by Kolkata Knight Riders but he was disqualified for playing in unsanctioned UAE T10 league.

Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan was picked up the defending champions Barbados Tridents along with English batsman Alex Hales and Australian all-rounder Marcus Stoinis.

Australian leg-spinner Fawad Ahmed who was part of their Trinbago Knight Riders’ (TKR) Championship winning team in 2018 was brought back by the franchise.

The three time champions Knight Riders have retained the core of their local players for the 2020 season.

Ross Taylor signed up by Guyana Amazon Warriors

The Guyana Amazon Warriors added New Zealand’s Ross Taylor and Afghanistan’s Naveen-ul-Haq to their squad while retaining 13 players from the team that went unbeaten during the league stage of last year’s tournament

Australia’s hard-hitting batsman Chris Lynn and Ben Dunk, New Zealand’s leg-spinner Ish Sodhi and Pakistan’s left arm pacer Sohail Tanvir were picked up St Kitts & Nevis Patriots.

Carlos Brathwaite, who played for the Patriots last season, has been signed up by Jamaica Tallawahs. The Tallawahs had a poor run in the last season ending up at the bottom of the table.

The CPL 2020 is scheduled to be played August 18 through September 10 behind closed doors in Trinidad & Tobago, subject to the permission from the local government.

Teams for CPL 2020

Trinbago Knight Riders: Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Colin Munro, Fawad Ahmed, Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Tim Seifert, Sikandar Raza, Anderson Phillip, Pravin Tambe, Jayden Searles, Amir Jangoo, Tion Webster, Akeal Hosein, Ali Khan

Guyana Amazon Warriors: Imran Tahir, Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Ross Taylor, Shimron Hetmyer, Chris Green, Qais Ahmad, Keemo Paul, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Naveen-ul-Haq, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Kevin Sinclair, Ashmead Nedd, Odean Smith, Anthony Bramble, Jessy Singh

St Lucia Zouks: Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Nabi, Daren Sammy, Colin Ingram, Andre Fletcher, Kesrick Williams, Anrich Nortje, Chemar Holder, Obed McCoy, Rahkeem Cornwall, Mark Deyal, Noor Ahmad, Kimani Melius, Leniko Boucher, Kavem Hodge, Javelle Glen, Saad Bin Zafar

St Kitts & Nevis Patriots: Chris Lynn, Ben Dunk, Evin Lewis, Fabian Allen, Rassie van der Dussen, Sohail Tanvir, Ish Sodhi, Sheldon Cottrell, Denesh Ramdin, Rayad Emrit, Dennis Bulli, Alzarri Joseph, Joshua Da Silva, Dominic Drakes, Colin Archilbald, Jon-Russ Jaggesar, Sunny Sohal

Barbados Tridents: Rashid Khan, Jason Holder, Marcus Stoinis, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Johnson Charles, Shai Hope, Hayden Walsh Jr, Ashley Nurse, Jonathan Carter, Raymon Reifer, Kyle Mayers, Joshua Bishop, Nyeem Young, Justin Greaves, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Shayan Jayangir

Jamaica Tallawahs: Andre Russell, Sandeep Lamichhane, Carlos Brathwaite, Rovman Powell, Tabraiz Shamsi, Glenn Phillips, Chadwick Walton, Oshane Thomas, Asif Ali, Fidel Edwards, Preston McSween, Andre McCarthy, Nicholas Kirton, Jeavor Royal, Nkrumah Bonner, Veerasammy Permaul, Ryan Persaud

Follow us on Facebook for more sports news & updates

- Advertisement -

Do we often under-appreciate Andy Flower? What’s his legacy?

There's a hint of sadness in noting that Zimbabwe has never been a dominant power in world cricket. But nothing could be sadder than...

15 Highly Educated Cricketers Of All Time

Cricket is a game of passion and dedication. A sport in which one involves themselves in camps and practice since early childhood. Due to...

IPL 2018: The beautiful Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

Being seated in the Sawai Mansingh stadium brings a different world, a world of difference away from the palpable excitement of watching truly India’s...

IPL 2018: Purple Cap Holders Over The Years

The Indian Premier League (IPL), like any other global T20s league,  has been a batsman's paradise. In the batsmen friendly format, bowlers have found...

What can be expected from the 2018 Azerbaijan Grand Prix?

Heat in the air and heat inside the car- that's been the story of the Azerbaijan Grand prix. As F1 parks itself at Baku...

How Come UFC Fighters Have Cauliflower Ears But Boxers Don’t?

The UFC has come a long way since its early days, wherein the fights seemed like modern-day gladiators due to its brutality and inconsistent...

Top 5 Left Wingers In The World, Based On 2019-20 Season

Owing to the fact that football has evolved a lot since its inception and the tactics have changed a lot, the role of wingers...

5 spinners who can be India’s potential finger-spinners

The Indian cricket team has always been proud of its ability to produce world-class batsmen and similarly potent spinners. Though in recent times, the...

Big change for India Women’s cricket as BCCI looks to finalise bowling coach soon

We are not even at the halfway stage of the 2018 cricketing season. It clearly seems there's no stopping India's women's cricket team. The...

The astonishing decline of Mario Balotelli

There was a time when Mario Balotelli was on top of the world.  The Italian talisman had scored two goals in the Euro 2012 semi-finals,...

Amid an unstoppable flow of runs, Smriti Mandhana tipped to get prestigious Arjuna Award

When the BCCI announced that free-hitting batswoman Smriti Mandhana would be awarded the Arjuna Award, there were more smiles than doubts. For Smriti Mandhana,...

Fresh fitness blow adds to woes for Mohammed Shami

Earlier this year, India fast bowler Mohammed Shami was the leading wicket-taker in South Africa and helped the national team to win a Test...

IPL 2018: The best from the West Indies

When one of nature's treacherous attacks on mankind- earthquakes- strike, their impact is measured on Richter's scale. When West Indians strike in a tournament...

Who Is the Better Formula 1 Racer, Max Verstappen or Lewis Hamilton?

Despite Verstappen’s first win in Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2021, a new debate has sparked on which Formula 1 racer is better? Max Verstappen...

IPL 2018: Orange Cap Holders Over The Years

The last decade in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 has gone on to give us a strong list of batsmen, who have taken...

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -