HomeBCCIRanji Trophy format likely to change

Ranji Trophy format likely to change

- Advertisement -

The Board for Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) is considering changes in Ranji Trophy format, which saw 38 teams participate in three Elite groups and one Plate group in the 2019-20 season.

The Ranji Trophy 2019-20 season, which was won by Saurashtra, was played according to the format introduced for the first time in 2018-19 season. As per the format the teams were split into three Elite groups A, B and C of 9, 9 and 10 teams respectively and a Plate group of 10 teams.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

The top five teams with the highest points from across group A and B, plus the top-two from group C and the winners of the Plate group made it to the quarterfinals.

Proposed Ranji Trophy format

However, according to a report by The Hindu, the board is considering a proposal to divide the Elite teams from the current three to five groups, each consisting of 6 teams, with the remaining eight teams in the Plate group.

The new format will see the top team from each of the five Elite groups qualify for the quarterfinals The last three spots will be filled via play-offs among five second-placed teams from the Elite groups and the Plate winner.

The proposal, which was submitted to the board before the COVID-19 outbreak, if approved by BCCI’s (yet to be appointed) cricket committee, could lead to drastic reduction in the total number of matches played during the tournament from 169 to 113.

It is likely that the board could try the new format for the upcoming season, which is likely to be shortened due to the coronavirus disruptions.

Reduced workload and earning

While some of the BCCI officials feel that the new avatar of the tournament will lessen the workloads of players who feature in the IPL and in matches for India-A, it will be interesting to see how the players respond to the proposal.

The proposal along with the matches and work load could also reduce the earnings of the players, who earn about 1.4 lacs per Ranji match.

Follow us on facebook for more sports news & updates

- Advertisement -

15 Highly Educated Cricketers Of All Time

Cricket is a game of passion and dedication. A sport in which one involves themselves in camps and practice since early childhood. Due to...

Do we often under-appreciate Andy Flower? What’s his legacy?

There's a hint of sadness in noting that Zimbabwe has never been a dominant power in world cricket. But nothing could be sadder than...

IPL 2018: The beautiful Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

Being seated in the Sawai Mansingh stadium brings a different world, a world of difference away from the palpable excitement of watching truly India’s...

How Come UFC Fighters Have Cauliflower Ears But Boxers Don’t?

The UFC has come a long way since its early days, wherein the fights seemed like modern-day gladiators due to its brutality and inconsistent...

IPL 2018: Purple Cap Holders Over The Years

The Indian Premier League (IPL), like any other global T20s league,  has been a batsman's paradise. In the batsmen friendly format, bowlers have found...

What can be expected from the 2018 Azerbaijan Grand Prix?

Heat in the air and heat inside the car- that's been the story of the Azerbaijan Grand prix. As F1 parks itself at Baku...

5 spinners who can be India’s potential finger-spinners

The Indian cricket team has always been proud of its ability to produce world-class batsmen and similarly potent spinners. Though in recent times, the...

Top 5 Left Wingers In The World, Based On 2019-20 Season

Owing to the fact that football has evolved a lot since its inception and the tactics have changed a lot, the role of wingers...

The astonishing decline of Mario Balotelli

There was a time when Mario Balotelli was on top of the world.  The Italian talisman had scored two goals in the Euro 2012 semi-finals,...

Big change for India Women’s cricket as BCCI looks to finalise bowling coach soon

We are not even at the halfway stage of the 2018 cricketing season. It clearly seems there's no stopping India's women's cricket team. The...

IPL 2018: The best from the West Indies

When one of nature's treacherous attacks on mankind- earthquakes- strike, their impact is measured on Richter's scale. When West Indians strike in a tournament...

Amid an unstoppable flow of runs, Smriti Mandhana tipped to get prestigious Arjuna Award

When the BCCI announced that free-hitting batswoman Smriti Mandhana would be awarded the Arjuna Award, there were more smiles than doubts. For Smriti Mandhana,...

Fresh fitness blow adds to woes for Mohammed Shami

Earlier this year, India fast bowler Mohammed Shami was the leading wicket-taker in South Africa and helped the national team to win a Test...

Southampton XI if they didn’t sell their star players

Southampton, a club located in the south coast of England, have one of the most renowned youth academies in the Premier League.  Despite producing class...

Who Is the Better Formula 1 Racer, Max Verstappen or Lewis Hamilton?

Despite Verstappen’s first win in Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2021, a new debate has sparked on which Formula 1 racer is better? Max Verstappen...

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -