HomeBarcelonaReal Madrid win first La Liga title in 3...

Real Madrid win first La Liga title in 3 years after 2-1 win over Villarreal

- Advertisement -

Real Madrid have been crowned La Liga champions for the first time in three years after securing a 2-1 victory over Villarreal at an empty Alfredo Di Stefano Stadium on Thursday night. 

Karim Benzema emerged as the difference maker as he netted a brace to fire the Madrid giants to their 34th Spanish title.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

The Frenchman opened the scoring with a low strike in the 29th minute before doubling the hosts’ lead with a retaken penalty in the 76th minute.

The spot-kick was originally taken by Sergio Ramos, who attempted to pass it to Benzema to finish. However, the effort was disallowed because the striker ran into the box before the referee even blew his whistle.

Substitute Vicente Iborra pulled one back for Villarreal with a powerful header in the 86th minute, after which a flurry of attempts to find the equaliser was easily denied by Thibaut Courtois.

Marco Asensio also had a goal disallowed by VAR in stoppage time but Los Blancos were hardly bothered as they finished the game as title winners.

The win marks Real Madrid‘s tenth consecutive victory since Spanish football returned last month.

They will head into their final match of the season this weekend with a commanding seven-point lead over second-placed Barcelona, who suffered a 1-2 loss to Osasuna last night.

Zinedine Zidane once again helps Real Madrid end Barcelona’s La Liga dominance

Real Madrid have transformed into a very different team since Zinedine Zidane returned for his second tenure as the club’s manager in March last year.

The Frenchman already had quite the reputation to maintain, having led the side to a La Liga title and three consecutive UEFA Champions League trophies, among many others, in his first stint as manager.

Los Blancos had predominantly finished behind Barcelona in the La Liga title races of the last decade, with this being only their third league title in the previous nine seasons.

They also recorded consecutive third-place finishes since their previous domestic title, which was during Zidane’s first tenure.

The 1998 World Cup winner looked determined to reclaim Real Madrid’s place in the Spanish top flight this season but a series of inconsistent displays saw them sit a couple of points behind Barcelona before all footballing activity was suspended in March.

Zinedine Zidane had presumably identified the Madrid giants’ shortcomings during the lockdown as the team appeared to be much more compact and well-balanced after the break.


The Frenchman’s acute observations, his man-management skills, his ability to instil tactical discipline in the team and his players’ trust in him, ultimately served as the key factors that helped the side sustain their title charge in the business end of the campaign.

Real Madrid skipper Sergio Ramos paid tribute to his manager after the win, saying:

“Everything Zidane touches turns into gold. We believe in him and his work. He’s the one who has to make the difference, he’s a person who trusts players, and few do. We hope he stays here for a very long time, he is unique.”

An elated Zinedine Zidane, who lifted his 11th title as Real Madrid manager, said:

“Today is one of the best days for me as a professional and after everything that happened with the three-month break, it’s fantastic what we’ve achieved. It’s strange for everyone.

“We can’t control the situation. We would have loved to have been with the supporters and gone to the Cibeles Fountain and hopefully that can happen further down the line, but for the question of health it can’t happen.”

“I’m sure the Real Madrid supporters are celebrating happily at home seeing their team win the league again.”

Here are the best Twitter reactions to Los Blancos’ title win:


Also Read: A peek into the genius of Gareth Bale and Sergio Busquets

- Advertisement -

Do we often under-appreciate Andy Flower? What’s his legacy?

There's a hint of sadness in noting that Zimbabwe has never been a dominant power in world cricket. But nothing could be sadder than...

15 Highly Educated Cricketers Of All Time

Cricket is a game of passion and dedication. A sport in which one involves themselves in camps and practice since early childhood. Due to...

IPL 2018: The beautiful Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

Being seated in the Sawai Mansingh stadium brings a different world, a world of difference away from the palpable excitement of watching truly India’s...

IPL 2018: Purple Cap Holders Over The Years

The Indian Premier League (IPL), like any other global T20s league,  has been a batsman's paradise. In the batsmen friendly format, bowlers have found...

What can be expected from the 2018 Azerbaijan Grand Prix?

Heat in the air and heat inside the car- that's been the story of the Azerbaijan Grand prix. As F1 parks itself at Baku...

How Come UFC Fighters Have Cauliflower Ears But Boxers Don’t?

The UFC has come a long way since its early days, wherein the fights seemed like modern-day gladiators due to its brutality and inconsistent...

Top 5 Left Wingers In The World, Based On 2019-20 Season

Owing to the fact that football has evolved a lot since its inception and the tactics have changed a lot, the role of wingers...

5 spinners who can be India’s potential finger-spinners

The Indian cricket team has always been proud of its ability to produce world-class batsmen and similarly potent spinners. Though in recent times, the...

Big change for India Women’s cricket as BCCI looks to finalise bowling coach soon

We are not even at the halfway stage of the 2018 cricketing season. It clearly seems there's no stopping India's women's cricket team. The...

The astonishing decline of Mario Balotelli

There was a time when Mario Balotelli was on top of the world.  The Italian talisman had scored two goals in the Euro 2012 semi-finals,...

Amid an unstoppable flow of runs, Smriti Mandhana tipped to get prestigious Arjuna Award

When the BCCI announced that free-hitting batswoman Smriti Mandhana would be awarded the Arjuna Award, there were more smiles than doubts. For Smriti Mandhana,...

Fresh fitness blow adds to woes for Mohammed Shami

Earlier this year, India fast bowler Mohammed Shami was the leading wicket-taker in South Africa and helped the national team to win a Test...

IPL 2018: The best from the West Indies

When one of nature's treacherous attacks on mankind- earthquakes- strike, their impact is measured on Richter's scale. When West Indians strike in a tournament...

Who Is the Better Formula 1 Racer, Max Verstappen or Lewis Hamilton?

Despite Verstappen’s first win in Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2021, a new debate has sparked on which Formula 1 racer is better? Max Verstappen...

IPL 2018: Orange Cap Holders Over The Years

The last decade in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2018 has gone on to give us a strong list of batsmen, who have taken...

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -