Records Tumble as Australia Script Highest Run Chase In T20Is Against Kiwis


Share post:

Australia’s resurgence in T20Is continued as they scripted history by becoming the first team to successfully notch the highest ever run chase in T20I history. They reached 245/5 in 18.5 overs against New Zealand to win their fourth successive T20I in the ongoing Trans-Tasman Tri-Nation series.

Aussie star Aaron Finch sealed the remarkable feat with a six after D’Arcy Short had top scored with 76 in reply to the Kiwis’ 243-6, a score dominated by Martin Guptill’s 49-ball century. Australia stayed in touch with the asking rate and clobbered the Kiwi bowlers to stamp their authority in a spectacular run-chase. New Zealand will now have to win their next game against England to reach the finale.
It was runs showering at Auckland with New Zealand opener Martin Guptill hitting a sensational 105 off just 54 balls. His opening partner Colin Munro struck 76 runs to give the Kiwis a perfect platform. And then the run flow continued with David Warner (59) and D’Arcy Short sharing a 121-run opening-wicket stand from 51 balls.
In the end, Aaron Finch’s  quick-fire 36, helped the Aussies seal the win to maintain their 100 per cent record in the series.

  • Australia’s score of 5-245 is the highest successful run chase in the history of all T20 cricket
  • The Aussies broke the record set by West Indies in 2015 when they scored 236-6 to stage a commendable victory against South Africa


  • Australia 245/5 beat New Zealand 244/6
  • West Indies 236/6 beat South Africa 231/7
  • England 230/8 beat South Africa 229/4


  • THE 245/5 is the highest second-innings score in T20 internationals
  • It is the fifth-highest total in all T20 internationals
  • The 32 sixes scored in the match is an equal record in T20 internationals
  • 488 runs were scored at Eden Park which in turn is the second highest match aggregate in T20Is
  • New Zealand’s 6-243 is the highest score Australia have conceded in T20 cricket.
  • The 6-243 is also Black Caps’ highest T20 total in their history
  • NZ conceded 18 wides in the game which is the fourth-most in T20Is
  • NZ’s Ben Wheeler conceded 64 runs from his 3.1 overs which is the equal third-most by a bowler in the history of T20Is

Fantastic Guptill
The Kiwi opener was in fine form and showed his intent from the start massacring the Aussie bowlers. He shared a stupendous 132-run stand with Munro in under 11 overs and once his partner got out, he continued in a similar fashion to wreck havoc. The stylish right-hander, who was snubbed at the Indian Premier League auctions, smashed nine sixes on his way to his second T20I century.

              Runs                  Balls                4/6         Strike Rate
                115                     54                 6/9             194.44


  • Martin Guptill’s century from 49 balls is the fastest by a New Zealander, overtaking Brendon McCullum’s previous record of 50 deliveries
  • Guptill also overtook McCullum’s mark of 2140 career runs to be the highest run-scorer in the history of T20 Internationals. He has 2188 career runs
  • The opener also joined an elite list of only becoming the sixth player to have reached two centuries in T20Is


  • Martin Guptill (NZ) – 2188 runs
  • Brendon McCullum (NZ) – 2140 runs
  • Virat Kohli (IND) – 1956 runs
  • T Dilshan (SL) – 1889 runs
  • Shoaib Malik (PAK) – 1821 runs



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Check out SevenJackpots and find your new favorite online casino among the best Indian gambling sites in the market. Play with real money via preferred payment and enjoy a rich collection of online casino games anytime, anywhere.

Best Indian gambling sites and enjoy the greatest selection of cricket Satta rates one can find in India now. Visit PureWin cricket betting and make use of your sports knowledge to bet on any game of cricket played in India or in every corner of the world.

Related articles