Home Cricket Road To IPL 2019: A Look At The Unbreakable Records

Road To IPL 2019: A Look At The Unbreakable Records

13 min read

The 2019 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is all set to start from March 23 onwards. Defending champions Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore open the campaign in a mouth-watering clash. Over the years in the IPL, we have witnessed a plethora of records being scripted. From teams to that of individual players, we have seen records aplenty that left us mesmerised.

A lot of records been set and broken since the first ever match been played. Many records were broken in the subsequent seasons and a new set of the same were registered. The T20 format is one that helps you in mustering some special feats and when you have star players gracing leagues such as the IPL, the chances get bigger. Such is the demand of the game.

However, there are only some mind boggling records that might never be broken or it would be immensely tough to achieve the same in near future. Here, we look at such records.

Chris Gayle’s 175* could stay on forever

Chris Gayle of RCB celebrates after hitting a century for RCB against Pune Warriors. (Image: Sportskeeda.com)

West Indian powerhouse Chris Gayle entertained us with a fascinating innings in the format in 2013. It was one of the best innings ever witnessed in the IPL and also in T20 cricket. His heroics will live on forever.  The veteran T20 Universe Boss holds the record of the highest score by an individual in the tourney.

Gayle amassed an unbeaten 175-run knock for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors. He achieved the feat in just 66 balls. Right from the outset, Gayle made his intentions clear. He thrashed the bowlers all over the park with 13 fours and 17 sixes.

The southpaw reached three-figures before nine overs and hit eight fours and eleven sixes, which meant that 98 of his runs came having to run between the wickets. RCB eventually emerged victorious after thumping Pune by a staggering 130 runs.

This record by Gayle is absolutely monumental and it would require a herculean effort to break this feat. Perhaps in this generation it might never.

Gayle’s other notable feats that might remain untouched

Chris Gayle in action during the match between RCB and MI in Bangalore. (Image: IANS)

The veteran also holds the record for the fastest IPL ton. He achieved the same in just 30 balls. This came in the epic unbeaten 175-run knock against Pune. The previous fastest century in IPL was achieved in 37 balls by Yusuf Pathan in the 2010 edition of the IPL.

Besides the fastest ton, Gayle also holds the record for the most number of sixes in an innings (17). This too was achieved in the bludgeoning 175-run knock. Gayle also leads the overall sixes record with 298. This season he will definitely add to that tally and be the first one to hit 300-plus sixes in IPL.

It will be almost impossible by modern day batsmen to surpass these feats. In that same encounter against Pune, RCB amassed 263/5 and that is still the highest total in the IPL. This is a monstrous feat and needs something special to be broken.

Amit Mishra’s three IPL hat-tricks a special feat

Mishra claims a hat-trick for SRH in IPL 2013. (Image: Sportskeeda.com)

It is definitely hard to achieve hat-tricks in the T20 format. A bowler can get you dot balls and wickets, but hat-tricks are a different ball game altogether. And leg-spinner Amit Mishra holds this unique record of amassing three IPL hat-tricks, This in itself is an achievement of real glory.

Across 11 seasons in the IPL, only 14 bowlers have managed to claim a hat-trick. Mishra claimed the feats in 2008, 2011 and 2013. Mishra, who represented several teams in the past, helped his side win these matches. In 2013, he helped Sunrisers Hyderabad win against Pune by a 11-run margin. He dismissed the likes of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rahul Sharma, Ashok Dinda.

In 2011, Mishra helped the Deccan Chargers win the game. He picked up the wickets of Ryan McLaren, Mandeep Singh and Ryan Harris. In this must-win scenario, Chargers overcame KXIP to clinch a thriller.

In 2008, with 15 runs needed off six balls, former Delhi skipper Virender Sehwag tossed the ball to Mishra. The Haryana leg-spinner closed out the game in the first three balls itself. He ended up with a five-wicket haul and hand Delhi a 12-run win against Deccan Chargers. He dismissed Ravi Teja, Pragyan Ojha and RP Singh.

Another record that seems distant.

Kohli’s four centuries in IPL 2016 is unbreakable

Indian captain Virat Kohli (Image: BCCI)

Scoring a century in the T20 format is indeed a special achievement for a player. Over the years we have witnessed so many tons and their impact have been massive. But 2016 was a special year in the IPL. Indian captain Virat Kohli was part of this brilliance. The RCB skipper smashed a whopping four tons in a single edition of the T20 tourney.

Interestingly, Kohli has achieved four tons in his IPL career and all of them came in a single season. That was monstrous batting from the right-handed batsman, who defied all odds and seemed glory. Kohli scored a breathtaking 973 runs in that edition which itself is a record.

Except him, nobody else has crossed the 900-run mark ever in IPL. Kohl registered his maiden IPL ton against the Gujarat Lions (100 off 63 balls). But that wasn’t enough as Gujarat chased down the target of 181. The second came against Rising Pune Supergiant. Kohli smashed a brilliant 108 from 58 deliveries including 8 boundaries and 7 huge sixes. This was a winning cause for his side.

His third came against Gujarat once again.Kohli bettered his high score as he smashed a scintillating 109 from 55 deliveries, a knock comprising of 5 fours and 8 sixes. RCB won the encounter. Rain saw this match get reduced to 15 overs, but that didn’t stop Kohli. He smashed 113 with the innings laced with 12 fours and 8 massive sixes. Kohli led RCB to a comfortable victory against KXIP.

Other notable feats that may never be touched

Suresh Raina plays a shot for CSK in IPL 11. (Image: BCCI)

Three-time IPL winners Chennai Super Kings have been a part of nine out of 11 IPL seasons. Interestingly, MS Dhoni’s side have made it to the play-offs in every season they have participated. This makes CSK the most successful team in the cash-rich T20 league.

They have made it to the IPL final a record seven times. No other teams have come this close. Besides winning the trophy thrice, CSK ended up as runners-up on four occasions.

Former Pakistani bowler Sohail Tanvir holds the record for the best bowling figures 6/14. He achieved the same in 2008. Over a decade now, no other bowler has gone on to break this brilliant record. He scripted this against CSK while representing the Rajasthan Royals.

CSK batsman Suresh Raina holds the record for most runs in IPL, but he has a unique record of scoring 400-plus across seven consecutive seasons in the IPL . Out of 11 seasons, Raina has amassed 400-plus runs in nine seasons. This is an unique set of records and needs utmost consistency for someone to achieve the same.


Load More Related Articles
Load More By Staff Writer
Load More In Cricket

Check Also

Spinners who could have massive influence in IPL 2019

Spin bowling in T20 cricket is an art. Batsmen at times often fail to clear the ropes agai…